Big Agnes - Steamboat Springs, CO

Nuts & Bolts

Raves & Reviews

Fording the outlet of Hidden Lake is part of the requirements for skiing summer corn in Glacier National Park, MT - Aaron Teasdale

Product Reviews

The Rattlesnake SL3 mtnGLO™ wins Outside Gear of the Year Award! "Boasting all the user-friendly features we look for in a lightweight backpacking tent—easy color-coded setup, roomy vestibules, and convenient storage pockets—the Rattlesnake ($400) was a tester favorite right off the bat. Then night fell, we turned on its embedded lights, and we had a clear winner. Built into the canopy of the tent body are dozens of LEDs powered by three AAA batteries. At full brightness (just enough to read by), the lights last 90 hours and add only two ounces. A spacious floor plan and vertical walls add to the ambiance and livability." As one happy tester put it, “This tent just took a giant step closer to feeling like a home, and I love it.”

Outside Magazine Gear of the Year Award 2015

"Big Agnes updated its already ridiculously light Fly Creek UL series tents this year to be even lighter. The UL1 weighs in at a scant one pound, 11 ounces. Opt just to use the fly and it’s just over a pound. It also kept out the elements, including a middle-of-the-night, high-mountain groppel and thunder storm. This one-person tent was our go-to shelter when we wanted to get some serious alone time." -Elevation Outdoors Staff

Elevation Outdoors Peak Gear Awards 2015

Backpacker Magazine awarded our Copper Spur UL3 an Editors' Choice Award in their April, 2008 issue. Here's an excerpt of what they had to say; "The lightest, roomiest tent we tested this year. Enough said. With legit space for three sleepers, this tent weights just a pound and change per hiker - you simply won't find anything else this light, roomy, and weatherproof."

Backpacker, April 2008

Backpacker Magazine also awarded our Cyclone SL Chair Kit with an Editors' Choice Award in their April, 2008 issue. Here's an excerpt of what they had to say, "Never again do you have to choose between a heavy chair and a sore butt. The Cyclone weighs less than a New York City bagel and packs smaller than a three-piece fly rod. When coupled with an inflatable mattress, it becomes an instant backcountry recliner."

Backpacker, April 2008

Men's Journal magazine included the new Stagecoach Rolling Duffel as one of its Gear of the Year picks in the December, 2006 issue. Here's what they said; "The first bag offered by Big Agnes, a well-respected tent and sleeping bag maker, the Stagecoach merges roller blade-style wheels with backpack straps, highly water-resistent fabric, waterproof zippers, and welded seams that rival a river guide's dry bag. Although we don't recommend submersing it if you don't have to, the 5,100-cu-in hauler is the first roller we've seen that can weather blizzards, hurricanes, or spilled margaritas."

Men's Journal, December 2006

Backpacker reviewed the Zirkel 20 degree down mummy in their October, 2005 issue and gave it praise. "Big guys stretch out: This roomy, inexpensive bag won't cramp your style. With Big Agnes' trademark design - a sleeve for your sleeping pad instead of insulation on the bag's bottom - the Zirkel manages to deliver the test's widest cut while still tipping the scales at a very competitive 2 pounds. And there's barely a tradeoff in warmth. On a night near freezing in the North Cascades, I slept comfortably outside my tent, even with an icy wind blowing off the nearby snowfields." For more pick up a copy of Backpacker's October issue.

Backpacker magazine features an ultralight tent review, including the Seedhouse SL2, titled 'New-School Shelters' in the October, 2005 issue. The SL2 was awarded top score of all the tents reviewed. Here's what they had to say, "Freestanding, sturdy, and barely more than 3 pounds - tents like this are as rare as bikinis on Everest. It just doesn't get any lighter than this, not without sacrificing weather protection. The Seedhouse's single-hubbed pole/clip system sets up quickly without guesswork, and the taut pitch offers impressive stability. The solid pole structure, boosted by a few well-placed external guy lines, helped the Seedhouse stand strong in guys winds from Mt. Washington's Goat Rocks Wilderness to the southern Appalachians...." For the entire review please pick up a copy of Backpacker at your specialty outdoor retailer.

Backpacker October, 2005

Backpacker recently mailed thier August, 2005 issue and our Sarvis SL1+ eVENT tent was reviewed in the gear section. Here's what they had to say, "When 90 mph winds flipped a bus and ripped down trees in Colorado's Front Range, our tester figured this tent was a goner. But it stood strong, with the only damage a torn grommet that Big Agnes says has since been reinforced. Credit the strength to a stable one-piece, hubbed pole design and a strong web of stake loops and guy points (13 in full pitch). During a trek in soggy New Zealand, our 6'1" tester liked the spacious interior, which was big enough to stow him and all his gear. The freestanding Sarvis has adequate ventilation for such a lightweight, rock-solid shelter, thanks to a hybrid design that employs breathable eVENT fabric. Still, you'd better value alone time to spend this much on a solo shelter. Tip: If you want a shelter made with eVENT, get it now. The fabric doesn't meet fire resistance standards enforced in some states, and eVENT will not be available in 2006 shelters."

Backpacker, August 2005

Summary from a review of our Parkview 2 tent from Backpackgeartest.org "So far it looks like Big Agnes has pulled it off! They've created the best of both worlds: a tent that's light enough for backpacking yet maintains the roominess of larger tents normally too heavy to be practical for backpacking. They've wrapped it all up in a product called the Parkview 2! It's a great tent that seems to have really found the happy medium."

Backpackgeartest.org

Many of our products have been reviewed by backpackgeartest.org and may be read by visiting backpackgeartest.org

backpackgeartest.org

"The 2-pound Zirkel is a classic 725-fill-power down mummy bag perfect for colder summer trips. The long version of the Zirkel was so roomy I could do a deep knee-bend in side the sack - something I've wanted to do all my life....A great all-arounder, especially if size matters.

Mountain Gazette, 2005

"Big Agnes uses a blended hybrid fill rather than a layered system in its Crystal 30 bag. The insulation blends 650-fill down with PrimaLoft Sport insulation. The synthetic/ down blend kept the bag warm even on cold, foggy nights, while keeping the weight down. The Crystal is remarkably comfortable, in part because of the unique Big Agnes design that bonds the bag to a sleeping pad via an integrated sleeve on the bottom of the bag."

The Seattle Times, April 14, 2005

Sarvis 2 "We really liked the ability to roll back the front rain fly portion of the tent for excellent stargazing and ventilation in fair weather." "Given their living space, excellent ventilation, and integrated vestibules, the Big Agnes Sarvis shelters offer very respectable weights for free standing tents."

Backpackinglight.com

Hog Park "At bedtime, forgo straitjacket mummy bags in favor of the Big Agnes Hog Park, a 20-degree bag that's roomy, long and cheap."

National Geographic Adventure, May 2004

Yampa "A minimalist's sweet dream for late springtime through early fall at one pound 11 ounces, you barely notice it in your pack."

Outside Buyer's Guide 2004

Cross Mountain "...an outstanding fall and spring bag or one for the higher elevations in the summer. "

Backpackgeartest.org

"...you can thrash about without slipping from your pad onto the cold ground."

National Geographic Adventure

"Simply put, the coolest name in the biz."

Backpacker, June 2004

"Keep your wimpy tarps you want dependable protection in nasty weather, a freestanding setup for easy pitching night after night, and plenty of room to make a home. The Seedhouse 1 SL delivers on all fronts."

Backpacker, May 2004

"This makes perfect sense, as the pad is what provides all the ground-level insulation, anyway. It also means you don't play chase the pad as you roll around your tent at night."

Outsidemag.com Gear Guy, 2004

Customer Raves

"I own a number of excellent Big Agnes products (Flying Diamond 8, Roxy Ann 15, Mystic 15, Little Red 15, etc.) and now the Foidel Canyon 3. I just used the Foidel Canyon 3 for the first time last weekend and was really impressed. Super easy to set up, very well made and designed, and it handled some pretty heavy winds with ease. Thanks for making great gear!"

Alex Hutcheson

"A huge shout and major thanks to Big Agnes for replacing my sleeping pad, no questions asked, when I was having trouble with leakage problems. I was in a huge hurry to get it replaced as I was planning to take 8 Wild South volunteer wilderness rangers on a backpacking trip this coming weekend in the Sipsey Wilderness. They replaced the pad and made sure it was shipped back before the coming weekend. But now our backpacking trip is cancelled due to a wildfire burning in this wilderness area. Our ranger duties have now shifted to visitor use management in a support role for the Forest Service. I'm setting up base camp for my rangers near the wilderness so I will still need my sleeping pad. On a side note I was super excited to dial their number and get a real live person answering the phone, not an automated system. You don't get that these days! Thank you Big Agnes!!!!!!"

Kim Waites

"I’ve never had good luck camping in the rain. My boyfriend says I’m like a Gremlin, I just hate being caught in the rain. Damp everything, Ughh. So on our way East for a wedding we stayed at a campground in Missouri. Literally the second I opened the Wyoming Trail SL 2 bag, the deluge began- the Gremlin came out. I whined and stomped like a child. I insisted on butting the rent together from under the rain fly- it worked, but was still soaked. It’ll never hold water, it’s pouring, everything’s ruined. Boy was I wrong. A little toweling off the floor and it was dry as a desert inside. It stormed all night and not a drop inside. I’ve always stood by my Big Agnes products and now, even more so. Thanks for a dry and great nights sleep with no fear of drowning :)"

Elsie

“Big Agnes, Thank you for helping us after our tent got run over by a deer/moose, we’ll never know! It was our scariest night on the trail, but by helping us to replace it, you made the whole situation much better. We absolutely love our Copper Spur UL2 and we look forward to using it on the PCT and the Te Araroa in the future. We <3 Big Agnes! -Bugout & Clam”

Laura Scott and Tyler Collins, VA

"Big Agnes is unbelievable providing tents, tarps and sleeping bags for the villagers of Ghormu, Nepal. This is the first and only aid they will receive and every house is completely destroyed! Bill, Linda & Noah you literally have saved their lives!! Namaste!"

Nora Horan Holm Pykkonen

"I just have to say that I am ecstatic about my new sleeping system from Big Agnes. I got use to uncomfortable sleeping in the backcountry and thought that was just the norm, but not anymore, I am so impressed! I purchased the air core pad, pillow, and Lost Ranger sleeping bag. The pad is very comfortable, and I love that the bag has a full sleeve, you never roll off. I was not sure I would ever find a way to actually sleep comfortable while adventuring but I definitely did. Thank you!!"

Meredith Blackwell via Facebook

"I sent in my insulated air mattress for evaluation as I had tried to repair the leak and wasn't able to do it. Big Agnes responded in hours after they received it and are replacing the air mattress !! Amazing customer service. Best company out there."

Caroline Donnelly

"I just wanted to update you on my experience with Big Agnes. I had contacted you a while back inquiring about a pad with leak and a warranty question. I completed the form from their web page and was contacted immediately. I returned the pad and form and was assigned a case # and customer rep. Big Agnes evaluated the pad and promptly replaced it with a new and upgraded version. I have never EVER received better customer service. They are a premier company, just as is {company name}. I'm proud to have done business with both of you!! Keep up the good work. Thank You "

Coley Paschal

"I have had an insulated aircore mat for about a year and love it. Soon after buying, I emailed you requesting that you invent a device to fill it without the humidity of breath, almost bought an Exped pillow pump, but don't need the pillow function and thoght there must be a MINIMAL device, even if I must adapt a ziploc or such. Well, YOU'VE DON IT! I just got a Pumphouse, and it works great, about 6 fills and NO HUMID DOG BREATH inside my mat."

John via email

"Just wanted to pass along how happy we were with the Big Agnes gear. The Parkview 3 was quite perfect for our needs, and the air core pad is simply amazing--the best sleep I've had in a tent. I only wish I'd taken it on my Australia trip where my (another pad brand) didn't quite do the trick for the aging bones. I'm sold on the gear. Not sure quite what the product review process is, but put me down as a very satisified customer."

LA, Colorado

"We would like to add to your raves. My husband and I are not campers but we sleep on an air bed at home. Every time we sleep on a hotel bed we can barely stand up in the morning as they are so hard. As we were going on vacation for 10 days -- 7 days on a ship and 3 days at a friend's house, we were concerned we would be in traction by the time we came home! HOWEVER, Big Agnes saved the day. Looking on the internet we found out about Big Agnes REM sleeping pads. We ordered two twin pads (as they would fit any size bed we would be presented with either together double through king or a single twin. It's true, with just a few breaths we blew them up and put them under the mattress pads of the beds we were sleeping on. We had a very comfortable night's sleep every night with no back problems. Also, they are so lightweight they don't add very much to your luggage restrictions when flying -- just a matter of ounces... Thank you, Big Agnes, we will take them with us whenever we stay overnight anywhere..."

Slept Very Well, Temecula, CA

"Boasting all the user-friendly features we look for in a lightweight backpacking tent—easy color-coded setup, roomy vestibules, and convenient storage pockets—the Rattlesnake ($400) was a tester favorite right off the bat. Then night fell, we turned on its embedded lights, and we had a clear winner. Built into the canopy of the tent body are dozens of LEDs powered by three AAA batteries. At full brightness (just enough to read by), the lights last 90 hours and add only two ounces. A spacious floor plan and vertical walls add to the ambiance and livability. As one happy tester put it, “This tent just took a giant step closer to feeling like a home, and I love it.”

Outside Magazine Gear of the Year Award 2015

"For some time I had eyed the Big Agnes pads at REI, but at $70 for the REM Sleep Insulated model, I had a hard time justifying the purchase to my conscience. (..aka my wife..) A few weeks ago, I found these pads on sale for $49 at REI, so I finally took one home. For its maiden voyage I took it to the Pecos Wilderness in north-central New Mexico, for 5 days and 4 nights. THIS PAD ROCKS!!! I have been backpacking for 25 years and that was the best 4 nights of sleep I have ever had on the trail. Please accept my compliments and best wishes on your outstanding products!"

Vince M. via email

"I recently spent a month building trail and fence in Northern Colorado and used the Pomer Hoit for the duration. It performed beyond expectations. On several occassions I woke up and started fumbling for my lamp next to my bed. I thought I was at home in my own bed! Never was I cold and I was always comfortable. Thanks for such an excellent product. It was always a relief to slide into your bag after a long day digging or pounding posts."

anonymous customer

"We just had to write and let you know how much we love our Big Agnes sleep systems. We took our Lost Ranger/Lost dog combo to Sequoia/Kings Canyon Natl. Parks for a trial run, last fall. It was well below freezing, with a couple of feet of snow, and we were as cozy as we could be. Since then, we've used them at least one weekend, every month and are totally satisfied. Thanks for offering a superior product at a reasonable price."

LA from California

"I appreciate the excellent customer service provided yesterday by phone. I have attached an electronic copy of the picture I took of my Seedhouse SL 1. Although there was no food or any other odorous items in the tent, it was flattened by a bear in Montana during a nine day backpacking trip earlier this month. The picture was taken before any attempt was made to correct the damage incurred, as you can see the tent popped back up to near its original form. The poles were bent and the fly sustained some puncture holes and tears. I taped the holes as a temporary fix and despite additional rains (it rained almost every night on the trip) no water ever entered the tent except through the open doorway during entry. I am very impressed with the quality and workmanship in your tent."

JA

"I recently purchased the Big Agnes sleeping system from backcountry.com...a 15 degree down bag (Lost Ranger) and integrated insulated pad...and spent 12 nights using it in Northern NM including 7 nights at Philmont. Was the most comfortable sleep I have ever had in the backcountry. It was impossible to slide off the pad. The bag kept me toasty warm with temps slipping into the mid 30's at night. The tapered bag provided plenty of room without the "claustrophobic" feel of most mummy bags. We joked about it being a high-tek "Advance Integrated Sleep System" but it truly was."

Stuart M

"I purchased an Elk Park (-20) bag and pad off of the Internet this past summer. I hunted at Craig, CO this past weekend. Since you are neighbors to the East, you realize the temperature swing that we experienced over the last several days. I had never owned a sleeping bag that performed like yours in my life. The warmth and quality of sleep made me want to stay in the bag all day. Most bags leave me with a sore back that lasts for weeks. The bag was roomy and performed as advertised."

KB

"I bought a Zirkel bag last year, and could not be more pleased with it. There is no more wrestling with the pillow that slides away in the night, nor any more sliding off the pad, nor having the bag coil up like a phone cord."

JM

"You have made the light at the end of the 'buy all the solo shelter gear' tunnel. I did the planned solo trans-Sierra in August. Embarked Sequoia National Park on the High Sierra Trail, slept on Mt. Whitney in the full moon and exited Whitney Portal eight days later. I love that tent!"

JP on the Seedhouse SL1

"I sent in my insulated air mattress for evaluation as I had tried to repair the leak and wasn't able to do it. Big Agnes responded in hours after they received it and are replacing the air mattress !! Amazing customer service. Best company out there."

Caroline Donnelly

"I sent in my insulated air mattress for evaluation as I had tried to repair the leak and wasn't able to do it. Big Agnes responded in hours after they received it and are replacing the air mattress !! Amazing customer service. Best company out there."

Caroline Donnelly

Big Agnes Features

New Youth Bags
Award Winning Fly Creek Series
New Helinox Colors and Styles
Product Finder Download a Return Form
©2016. Big Agnes, Inc. Steamboat Springs, CO USA       Dealer Tools   |   Privacy Policy   |   Sitemap

What are you looking for?